Ben Stein: Champion For Justice

Ben Stein is a champion for justice, working tirelessly to weaken the iron grip of the evil liberal colleges on the collective intellect of the USA.

At least, that’s what the AFA would have us believe. The latest from their action alert newsletter:

Ben Blows the Horn on Censorship!

Dear ____,

When I saw this movie I wanted to jump up and down in joy. Ben Stein shows the Evolution Only crowd for what they are. This is the best expose’ of the educational bureaucrats ever. See how the leftwing liberals have captured higher education and will not allow any view but theirs to be discussed. See how they punish those who don’t think like they think. Ben Stein embarrases them intellectually. The liberals would like to ban this movie. They can’t do that, so they did the next best thing–they simply ignored it when it was shown in the theaters. The media critics also ignored it. The movie shows how they refuse to allow any discussion concerning creation. It shows how the liberal educators deal with their peers who do not agree with their Evolution Only stance.

Please watch this movie, then share it with others. I wish it could be shown in every classroom and every church in America.

In a controversial new satirical documentary, author, former presidential speechwriter,
economist, lawyer and actor Ben Stein travels the world, looking to some of the best
scientific minds of our generation for the answer to the biggest question facing
all Americans today:

Are we still free to disagree about the meaning of life?
Or has the whole issue already been decided…
while most of us weren’t looking?

I haven’t seen Expelled yet, although I’ve read enough about it (and seen enough individual clips) to think that it’s probably as stupid as everybody keeps saying. This e-mail is worse.

I have no idea why this jackass thinks us ‘liberals’ ignored Expelled – there’s an entire website devoted to cataloguing its flaws, and it has receieved many (overwhelmingly negative) reviews. If the movie hasn’t set the academic world on fire, it’s probably because it sucks.

The entire point of the e-mail is that this turd is coming out on DVD, which means that I will almost certainly end up watching it if the local video place decides to stock it. (Bringing it to the counter is going to be the most embarrassing experience of my life.) Expect a full review as soon as that happens, assuming it doesn’t leave me a shrieking, mindless wreck.

12 Responses to Ben Stein: Champion For Justice

  1. Lottie says:

    I have no idea why this jackass thinks us ‘liberals’ ignored Expelled – there’s an entire website devoted to cataloguing its flaws, and it has receieved many (overwhelmingly negative) reviews.

    I was thinking the same thing as I read the email. I’m also wondering where this genius gets the idea that anyone wants it banned? Huh? Has anyone suggested banning it? I’ve never heard any such thing.

    (Bringing it to the counter is going to be the most embarrassing experience of my life.)

    Maybe you can get it through Netflix. You can rent movies online and receive them in the mail.

    It beats wearing a ski mask to Blockbuster!😉

  2. forknowledge says:

    I don’t think Netflix delivers to Ireland, but there are Irish equivalents that do the same thing. Might be a good idea!

    I’ve never seen anyone suggest that Expelled should be banned. That’s not to say that it’s never happened, but it certainly doesn’t seem to be a common opinion. Even more confusing is the idea that anyone is trying to ban Creationism; the reason why nobody takes them seriously is because they’re stupid. No elaborate conspiracy theory needed!

  3. Lottie says:

    I don’t think Netflix delivers to Ireland […]

    Well duh @ me. I’d blame it on being extra tired or not so feeling great, but that would just be an excuse. Sorry…😳

    Even more confusing is the idea that anyone is trying to ban Creationism; the reason why nobody takes them seriously is because they’re stupid. No elaborate conspiracy theory needed!

    OK, now I’m feeling a little better. At least I’m laughing anyway.

    Thanks!😀

  4. forknowledge says:

    Heh, no problem. I write almost exclusively about issues concerning the USA anyway (for obvious reasons – Creationism isn’t (yet) a major issue where I live) so it’s natural to assume that’s where I live. Of course, the day Creationism does become an issue here is the day I move…

  5. Lottie says:

    My husband is English, so I’ll be able to move over there, but not until after my son turns eighteen. Well, I could go now, but I’d have to leave my son and that’s not going to happen.

    Too bad, too. He could get a good education over there without this kind of crap trying to interfere.

  6. forknowledge says:

    The English education system seems particularly good (they say that about ours as well, but don’t believe them; there’s is actually better :P). If Creationism does rear its head in England, it’s probably more likely to be coming from fundamentalist Muslims. English Christians as a whole seem far more sane and good-natured than the weirder American ones.

  7. Lottie says:

    We were able to spend six months in England a couple of years there. My son even attended the local primary school. I noticed the same thing about Christians there. I’m sure there were many Christians around; there were certainly a lot of churches. But when going about my day, they weren’t in my face asking if I’d found a “church home” yet, or if I’m saved; I don’t recall anyone sticking a tract or flyer in my face that threatened hell… that sort of thing, which is all quite common where I live.

    Then, of course, all the religious stuff keeps sneaking into our public schools via programs like abstinence only “education”, moments of “silence”, which everyone knows is code for “prayer”. The list goes on.

    I’d love to go back to England now. ::sigh::

  8. Lottie says:

    Oops… End of first sentence should read “… a couple of years ago.” That may be obvious, but I just wanted to clarify.

  9. forknowledge says:

    No problem, I got what you meant. England is pretty great, all right. I want to move to Cambridge some day…

  10. Lottie says:

    We’ll probably end up in Oxford or someplace nearby. My son wants to attend Oxford University.😀

  11. forknowledge says:

    Wow, high aspirations! Good luck to him.

Leave a Reply

