Why I Love JSTOR

Being a member of a college means that I get complete access to JSTOR, a massive online library of digital essays and journals. It’s like a microcosm of the internet, but entirely devoid of lolcats and YouTube commentors. (Whether or not its sensible to discuss ‘the internet without lolcats’ at this point is a question best left to the philosophers.)

As well as being a powerful tool for serious academic business, it’s fun to enter random phrases to see what turns up. ‘Creationism’ turns up a surprising number of anthropology papers, as well as worried essays in science periodicals going back as far as the mid seventies. (A note to Samuel P. Martin and Maxine Singer: your plan didn’t work.) I can also confirm that, contrary to what a lot of people on the internet seem to think, quite a few academics and scientists actually do use the phrase ‘Darwinism’, although not in the same context as most Creationists use it.

In the interest of academic…something, I’m looking for some completely bonkers topics to search for. Post your ideas in the comments section and I’ll let you know what comes up!

7 Responses to Why I Love JSTOR

  1. penguinfactory says:

    I demand that you search for the following:

    – “Inflatable beaches (feasability of)”

    – “Armadilloes as long range ordinance”

    – “Cloning Darwin”

    – “101 combustible materials and how to abuse them”

    – “Armadillo cannon (schematics of)”

    For science!

  2. forknowledge says:

    I think of a few of those might be too specific😛 Keep in mind that it searches for entire phrases. But sure, I’ll check.

  3. freidenker85 says:

    Actually, it might be interesting to search for stuff like:

    “Flood Geology”
    “Vapor Canopy”
    “Young Earth”
    “Flat Earth”
    “God”
    “Armageddon”
    “Messiah”
    “Heaven”

    If there’s any evidence for any of this stuff, it’s got to be in the scientific literature, right? Right??

  4. forknowledge says:

    You’d think so, except for the liberal-Marxist-atheist-materialist-naturalist-Darwinist conspiracy. It’s all about the conspiracy!

    (In case you’re wondering, ‘vapor canopy’ turned up the following:

    Sensitivity of Mean Canopy Stomatal Conductance to Vapor Pressure Deficit in a Flooded Taxodium distichum L. Forest: Hydraulic and Non-Hydraulic Effects

    Try saying that three times fast.

    I tried ‘young earth’, but nothing all that interesting came up – unless you’re into the ‘Efficacy of Diatomaceous Earth at Reducing Populations of Nest-Dwelling Ectoparasites in Tree Swallows’. I’m guessing not many people are….)

  5. freidenker85 says:

    I just knew those YEC’s are what they say they are.

    OT. I just finished reading Hitchen’s God is not Great and it was pretty good, but I’m just starting on Dennett’s Breaking the Spell and, well, I’m sorry, but I think it’s crap. I hate the way he writes. It’s tedious, trite and just not worth the effort. Can you think of any good books I could read that are in the “popular science” category? I’ve pretty much exhausted my ideas so far. Anything “new” that I could read will require going through at least another semester in college.

  6. forknowledge says:

    Have you read Carl Sagan’s stuff? The Demon Haunted World is very good!

  7. penguinfactory says:

    Hey freidenker, If you’re looking for popular science, you should read Bill Bryson’s “A Short History of Nearly Everything”. It’s has more “popular” than science, but it’s very entertaining, particularly if you’re into the history of science (A subject I’ve always found fascinating).

Leave a Reply

