AndromedasWake Welcomes You To The Universe

I’m a big fan of Youtube videos. Specifically, there’s been a relatively recent surge in channels dedicated almost entirely to combatting creationism and promoting science. One of the newest members of this endeavour is AndromedasWake, an astronomy student who sky-rocketed to popularity with only a handful of videos from his excellent seres, CrAP (Creationist Astronomy Propoganda) Debunked.

AW has announced a new series, titled Welcome to The Universe, that aims to be a professional-quality Youtube documentary series, containing music composed by AW himself, about cosmology and the scientists and discoveries that have shaped it. Today he released a trailer and asked people to spread it around as much as possible, so here it is:

Check out his other videos as well, and be on the lookout for some of the other excellent stuff on Youtube. Maybe I’ll do a post about it later.

Addition from forknowledge: I’ll second PF’s recommendation; AndreomasWake makes some excellent videos, and this new documentary looks like it could be fantastic. Best of all, it will be free, without copyright and available to anyone. The best way to combat Creationist stupidity is to have educated people like AW put out this kind of material in a format that us ‘ordinary’ people can understand. Let’s hope this is the beginning of a trend!

5 Responses to AndromedasWake Welcomes You To The Universe

  1. freidenker85 says:

    I think you should send a link to PZ Myers about this (also, normally I don’t mention shit like that, but if you do, make sure you get the post just right so that people who come here after the Pharyngulation keep on coming, so you might wanna pretty it up a bit, add a photo or whatnot) – I was surprised how quickly PZ linked to my post about the Yom Kippur riots, and he even put it on the first link! I had about 800 entries in two days, which is, um, astronomical for a complete incognito like me.

    I think it’s also a good thing for “TeH cause”.

  2. forknowledge says:

    Heh, I was actually just about to do a post on this. Apparently I don’t need to now!

  3. penguinfactory says:

    I think you should send a link to PZ Myers about this

    I would, but Amdromeda already asked people to do that himself, and approxamitely 5 billion have probably already done so.

  4. I see I’m not the only one to post AndromedasWake’s video to his blog. This should be a very good video series!

Leave a Reply

